The African Digital Rights Network membership is     drawn from:  

  • activist organisations
  • digital rights networks
  • academic researchers
  • individual members

ADRN members

Tanja Bosch is Associate Professor of Media Studies at the University of Cape Town and author of the book Social Media and Everyday Life in South Africa. Tanja is the current ADRN Chairperson.

Juliet Nanfuka is a digital rights researcher based at CIPESA and is the author of the Uganda Digital Rights Landscape Report. Juliet is the current ADRN Treasurer. 

Thobekile Matimbe is the Community Manager at Paradigm Initiative, a social enterprise advocating for digital rights and digital inclusion for underserved youth in Africa. Thobekile is the current ADRN Membership Secretary.

Felicia Anthonio is a Ghanaian digital rights activist who works for Access Now where she leads the #KeepItOn campaign against internet shutdowns. 

Rutendo Chabikwa is a Zimbabwean digital rights researcher. Her doctoral research at the University of Oxford applies a gender lens to understanding the effects of digital media on political participation in postcolonial contexts.

Berhan Taye is a researcher who investigates the relationship between technology, society, and social justice.

Atnaf Brhane was jailed for 540 days as one of Ethiopia’s Zone9 Bloggers, now leads CARD Ethiopia, and is co-author of the Ethiopia Digital Rights Landscape Report.

Nanjala Nyabola is a distinguished Kenyan journalist and political analyst, author of book Digital Democracy, Analogue Politics and of the Kenya Digital Rights Landscape Report.

Ekai Nabenyo is a legal researcher and Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and Volunteer Advocate at Kituo cha Sheria with a focus on human rights, advocacy and lobbying.  

Kiss Abraham is a Zambian activist, artist and researcher. He is Director of NewZambian Innovations a Zambian Civil Society Organisation which published the Constituency Watch Platform.

Yohannes Eneyew Ayalew is a PhD Candidate at the Faculty of Law, Monash University, Australia where he is researching on digital human rights in Africa. He is a co-author of the book Enforcement of Human Rights in Ethiopia.

Nwachukwu Egbunike is a senior lecturer at the School of Media and Communication, Pan-Atlantic University, Lagos, Nigeria. His research focuses on the intercession of digital media with youth political participation, social movements and freedom of expression. Egbunike is the author of Hashtags: social media, politics and ethnicity in Nigeria and the forthcoming: Digital youth and social movements (perspectives from Nigeria) to be published by Pan-Atlantic University Press.

Ayobami Ojebode is Professor of Applied Communications at the University of Ibadan, Nigeria. He has edited three books and authored the Nigeria Digital Rights Landscape Report.

Sam Phiri is a Media and Communications Studies faculty member at the University of Zambia where his research focuses on Political Communication and he is author of the Zambia Digital Rights Landscape Report. 

George Karekwaivanane is a lecturer at the University of Edinburgh Centre for African Studies and is the author of Facebook, ‘unruly publics’, and Zimbabwean politics and the Zimbabwe Digital Rights Landscape Report

Anand Sheombar is a lecturer at HU University of Applied Sciences Utrecht, author of Social Media in the Context of Development and curator of the Facebook group Social Media & Digital Technology in for Development

Evronia Azer is assistant professor at Coventry University. Her research is about vulnerabilities that the online space creates for social movements.  

Marjoke Oosterom is a Research Fellow at the Institute for Development Studies (IDS) and has published widely on issues including closing civic space and gender and citizenship

Kathleen Ndongmo is a communications analyst and advocate for digital rights, an Open Internet for Democracy Fellow and author of the Cameroon Digital Rights Landscape Report

Abrar Mohamed Ali is a consultant Reporting Officer at IOM Sudan and author of the Sudan Digital Rights Landscape Report and Opening Civic Space Online: Digital Rights in Africa

Tony Roberts is an IDS Fellow, editor of Digital Rights in Closing Civic Space: Lessons from Ten African Countries and of Surveillance Law: a review of six African countries. Tony is the current Vice Chair of ADRN with responsibility for fundraising.  

Mohamed Farahat is a lawyer & legal researcher, Steering Committee member of the Internet Rights and Principles Coalition and author of the Egypt Digital Rights Landscape Report.

Tim Dagori Muiruri is a lawyer and public policy analyst. Currently he is a consultant and researcher working at the intersection of technology and society - exploring opportunities, confronting threats.

Network Members

We need your consent to load the translations

We use a third-party service to translate the website content that may collect data about your activity. Please review the details and accept the service to view the translations.